Recovery Support Functions (RSFs)

RSFs involve collaborative partners not typically found in the Emergency Support Functions (ESFs) but that are critically needed for disaster recovery. Coordination through the RSFs encourages and complements investments and contributions by the business community, individuals and voluntary, faith-based and community organizations.

RSF activities assist communities with accelerating the process of recovery, redevelopment and revitalization.

State RSF Structure

By Executive Order (EO) BJ 14-9, the State created a State-level RSF structure to align with the Federal RSF structure. Similar to the Federal RSF system, the objective of State RSFs is to facilitate the identification, coordination and delivery of recovery assistance needed to supplement recovery resources and efforts by local governments.

State RSFs and stakeholders organize and request assistance and/or contribute resources and solutions. Together, the State RSFs facilitate local stakeholder recovery participation and promote intergovernmental and public-private partnerships

Federal RSF Structure

The Recovery Support Functions (RSFs) comprise the National Disaster Recovery Framework’s (NDRF) coordinating structure for key functional areas for assistance. Their purpose is to support local governments by facilitating problem solving, improving access to resources and fostering coordination among State and Federal agencies, nongovernmental partners and stakeholders.

RSFs bring together the core recovery capabilities of Federal departments and agencies and other supporting organizations to focus on community recovery needs. They are organized into six (6) manageable components through which, relevant stakeholders and experts are brought together during planning and when activated post-disaster to identify and resolve recovery challenges.

The objective of the Federal RSFs is to facilitate the identification, coordination and delivery of Federal assistance needed to supplement recovery resources and efforts by local, Tribal, State and Territorial governments, as well as private and nonprofit sectors


RSFs + Responsibilities

Louisiana Agency

Federal Agency

RSF-1 Community Planning + Capacity Building
  • Plans and implements disaster recovery activities
  • Department of Economic Development
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency
RSF-2 Economic
  • Recovery of economic capabilities
  • Develop new economic opportunities
  • Department of Economic Development
  • U.S. Department of Commerce
RSF-3 Health + Social Services 
  • Restoration and improvement of the health and social service networks
  • Department of Health and Hospitals
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
RSF-4 Housing
  • Implementation of housing solutions for whole communities
  • Louisiana Housing Corporation
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
RSF-5 Infrastructure Systems
  • Efficient restoration of infrastructure systems to support sustainable communities and protection from future hazards
  • Department of Transportation and Development
  • U.S. Corps of Engineers
RSF-6 Natural + Cultural Resources
  • Preservation, conservation, rehabilitation, and restoration of natural and cultural resources
  • Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority
  • Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
  • U.S. Department of Interior

Learn More

To learn more about Federal RSFs visit:

To learn more about State RSFs download: