



BRANT MITCHELL CHAIRMAN

VICE CHAIRMAN

Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee Sonya WILEY-GREMILION http://www.ohsep.louisiana.gov/interop.htm

MINUTES

Wednesday July 27, 2011

The Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee (SIEC) met on Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at The Louisiana State Police Headquarters, Conference Room C & D, 7919 Independence Boulevard, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806.

I. Call to Order

Chairman Brant Mitchell called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

II. Roll Call

The SIEC roll call was called by Travis Johnson, and a quorum was established.

The following SIEC members were present and absent.

Committee Members Present	Representing Agency
Brant Mitchell	Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (GOHSEP)-Office of Interoperability
Mike Gusky (Proxy for Ed Driesse)	Division of Administration
CPT Alan Dunn	Louisiana National Guard
Ronald Bourque	Louisiana Fire Chiefs Association
Tommy Thiebaud	Regional Parish Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness Directors Committee
Terry Waggenspack (Proxy for Jeya) Selvaratnam	Dept. of Public Safety & Corrections, Public Safety Services
Bill Vincent	Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, Louisiana Chapter
Billie Giroir	Region 2
Eric Deroche	Region 3
Lee Hebert	Region 4
Rob Butler (Proxy for Ken Harlow)	Region 5
Sonya Wiley-Gremillion	Region 6
William Edge	Region 7
Tracy Hilburn	Region 8
Woody Glover (Proxy for Chief Merrick Tassin)	Region 9

Committee Members Absent	Representing Agency
Sheriff Ricky Edwards	Louisiana Sheriffs Association
Randall Dunaway (Proxy for Chief Mike Knaps)	Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police
Vacant	Governor's Office of Indian Affairs
Frank Jordan	Louisiana Ambulance Alliance
Ken Hughes	Region 1

III. Approval of Minutes

Sonya Wiley-Gremillion made a motion to approve the March 22, 2011 meeting minutes. Lee Hebert seconded. The SIEC voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the March 22, 2011 meeting.

IV. Chairman's Report

A. Opening remarks

Chairman Brant Mitchell began by welcoming Representative Bodi White to the meeting.

Chairman Mitchell reported on the State's response to the historic flooding of the Mississippi River and the unified communications plan that was put together using LWIN Regional and State Interop Talkgroups.

Chairman Mitchell reported on the lessons learned from the LA USAR teams that deployed to Tuscaloosa after the severe tornados that hit the State of Alabama.

Chairman Mitchell gave a summary of the recent outreach efforts conducted by the Office of Interoperability.

Chairman Mitchell reported on recent testimony by Craig Fugate before Congress regarding Gulf WIN as a success story and a best practice.

Chairman Mitchell reported on the new connection between LWIN and AWIN. The governance over this connection is pending. This connection will extend the Gulf WIN network into Arkansas.

Chairman Mitchell reported on the new LWIN master site. This will be the fourth master site on LWIN. This master site was purchased with the HUD CDBG funds. This new master site will allow for more expansion of LWIN.

Chairman Mitchell discussed the possibility of bringing utility companies onto LWIN.

Chairman Mitchell reported that State has entered into a partnership with Motorola to obtain an LTE core and one eNodeB free of charge for a pilot program providing wireless broadband.

Lastly, Chairman Mitchell reported that DPS is working on a new state contract for mobile subscriber units that will include all 5 current vendors.

Chairman Mitchell's report can be found on the LWIN website at the following link:

http://www.lwin.la.gov/interop/docs/07272011_SIEC_Chair_Report_July20_11.pdf

V. Statewide System Maintenance

Terry Waggenspack provided an update on Infrastructure, system statistics, subscriber statistics, and system coverage. Mr. Waggenspack's report can be found on the LWIN website at the following link: http://www.lwin.la.gov/interop/docs/07272011 State of LA System July. pdf

VI. Sub-Committee Reports

A. Technical Sub-Committee

Eric Deroche reported that the Technical Sub-Committee has been working with DPS and GOHSEP in the process of acquiring the fourth master site and the LTE Core as well moving sites to different zones to balance the system.

B. Policy and Planning Sub-Committee

Bill Vincent presented two new policies and an amendment to an existing policy for the committee's consideration.

Tommy Thiebaud moved to accept the amendment to Policy 002 System Access Policy. Chief Bourque seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

William Edge moved to accept Policy 008 Subscriber Equipment Acceptance Policy. Eric Deroche seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Chief Bourque moved to accept Policy 009 Priority Level Policy. Lee Hebert seconded the motion. William Edge opposed the motion. The motion passed.

C. Budget and Finance Sub-Committee

No report.

VII. Old Business

Chairman Mitchell reported on the current progress on the NECP Goal 2 within the State.

Chairman Mitchell reported on the status of the Narrowbanding Working Group's efforts to promote awareness of the narrowbanding deadline.

VIII. New Business

A. Tait

XXXXX, from Tait gave a presentation on the Tait readios wich have recently been accepted for use on LWIN. The Tait presentation can be found on the LWIN website at:

http://www.lwin.la.gov/interop/docs/07272011 TAIT presentation.pdf

IX. Public Comments

No public comments

X. Adjournment

Tommy Thiebaud made a motion to adjourn. William Edge seconded the motion. The SIEC voted unanimously to adjourn.

Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee

January 27, 2010

, Name	Organization
1. Woody Glover	57 Tammy Com Dist
2. TRANSJOHNSON	GOHSOP
3. Sours kiley Grenilbon	Papides - Rlp
4. Lee Selier	Acadin R4
5. Jery KNog erspel	DP5
6. Chines Inger of	ander Frish DHS
7. Michael Gusky	DOALOTT
8. TRACY HILBURA!	OCIACHITA OEP
9. Range Baups	LFC
10. PAUL HURPHY D	G045EP
11. ferry Vincer	La Radio
12. Lloyd Miller	Callar, OHSEP
13. Pichard SILVERMAN	059
14. Oshim Thiland	Region Directions
15. STAN UNRUH	MotorulA
16. Fallie Giroie	WAPSO
17. Jan Rodrigu	DOC
18. Ajit Prabhakaran	Doc
19. ALAN DUNN	LANG
20. RAVI	DPS
21. Wes Edge	GOHSEP Region 7
22. Mars Marsh	GOHSED (
23. Bod Whit	Rep 264
23. 30 d. 20/16	Rep 264