Long-Term Recovery Subcommittee

State of Louisiana

John Bel Edwards Governor



James B. Waskom
Co-CHAIRMAN

PAT FORBES
Co-CHAIRMAN

October 16, 2018 10:00 am Meeting Minutes

Overwatch
Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness
7667 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806

I. Call to Order

Chairman James Waskom called the meeting to order on Tuesday October 16, 2018 at 10:06 a.m. and welcomed everyone.

After a roll call was determined the quorum of the statutory members of the subcommittee were present.

II. Roll Call

Agency Representatives	Representing Agencies
James Waskom	Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (GOHSEP)
Kay Lesage	Office of Community Development Recovery Unit
Rene Simon	Louisiana Dept. of Agriculture & Forestry
Lisa Trahan	Louisiana Dept. of Children & Family Services
Lauren Gleason	Louisiana Dept. of Health
Bridget Devlin	Louisiana Dept. Of Education
Ray Rodriguez	Louisiana Housing Corporation
Pat Witty / Michael Dunaway (BEOC)	Louisiana Economic Development
Sam Martin	Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority
Tommy Tuma	Louisiana Dept. of Wildlife & Fisheries
Vincent Latino	Dept. of Transportation & Development

Agency Members Absent	Representing Agency
Billy Nungesser	Lieutenant Governor
Joe Ganote	Chairman of Regional Director's
	Subcommittee

III. Statement

Chairman James Waskom made opening remarks referencing how the subcommittee came into existence. It began with the Region 6 FEMA Federal Disaster Recovery Coordinator offering the National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) as a best practice following the March Flood of 2016.

To date six communities have adopted the NDRF framework and they are: the city of Baker, the city of Denham, the parish of Ouachita, the city of Zachary, the parish of Tangipahoa, and the parish of East Baton Rouge. The intent is to prepare for recovery and have a system in place for recovery needs that will leverage Stafford Act funding, mitigation dollars, and a pathway forward that is resilient.

As a state, Louisiana incorporated resiliency using the NDRF Framework. FEMA has also taken some major steps as well to incorporate resiliency by appointing a Deputy Director of Resiliency within the agency.

IV. Presentation

A. Presented by: Genea Catron

Planning Manager Genea Catron gave a presentation on "Leadership and Strategy". The presentation highlighted principles and overall goals of the subcommittee. Systemically, the plans, processes and programs at the state level need to support and not conflict with one other. The leverage of the state emergency management leadership through the Governor's cabinet allow for an effective approach to prepare for, respond to, mitigate from, and recover from disasters. There are opportunities within the state to leverage coastal resilience planning and funding, as well as, a system to influence land use and development planning at the local level. The subcommittee will also be responsible functionally for the state recovery plan.

Planning Manager Genea Catron referenced leveraging stakeholders like CPEX in order to commit subcommittee members to establishing advisory committees.

Director James Waskom highlighted a meeting last week with the Governor's cabinet and coastal resiliency presented by CPEX in New Orleans. It is an opportunity to leverage state resources and education at the state and local level as a pathway forward in resiliency for the state of Louisiana. Director Waskom thanked Chairman Bradberry for putting that together.

V. Subcommittee By-laws

- A. The name of subcommittee is the Long-Term Recovery Subcommittee, sometimes referred to as the "LTRS" for the State of Louisiana.
 - The LTRS's primary purpose is developing long-term recovery planning and advising on opportunities that will achieve sustainability efforts within affect localities.
 - ii. Establish advisory subcommittees for specific issues
 - iii. Submitting an annual report to the Governor and to the UCG by January 1st of each year.
 - iv. Authority of LTRS was generated pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statue 29:725.6 (d) (i).
 - v. The term "member" unless otherwise specified, refers to voting members
- B. The office of the LTRS is located at 7667 Independence Blvd. Baton Rouge, LA 70806 in the parish of East Baton Rouge.

VI. Next Meeting

Chairman Waskom proposed a motion to move voting on Bylaws to the next meeting, advised the appointment of subcommittees will be tasked out at the next meeting, in addition, to the subcommittee following up with ideas and feedback. All information collected will be discussed and voted on. Electronic versions of By-Laws will be sent to Subcommittee.

VII. Public Comments

None

VIII. Adjourn

Chairman Waskom adjourned the meeting at 10:44 am.