

State of Louisiana

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee

Post Office Box 94095 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095 Rizwan Ahmed Chairman (225) 342-7105 (225) 219-4994 fax Rizwan.Ahmed@la.gov

> Vice Chairman Vacant

APPROVED w/corrections

STATEWIDE INTEROPERABILITY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

The Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee (SIEC) met on Wednesday, July 18, 2007, at the L'Auberge-du-Lac Hotel, Sycamore Room, 777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, Louisiana. Committee Chair Mr. Rizwan Ahmed called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m. The roll was called by CPT Ulinda Harper, and a quorum was established.

Committee Members Present:

Rizwan Ahmed (Chair)

Michael Austin Chief Robert Black

Joe Drago

Chief Freddy Drennan

Fredia Dunn (for Michael Ranatza)

Sheriff Ricky Edwards Col. Mickey McMorris CPT Christopher Mills

David Stone (for Susan Severance)

Col. Eric Sivula Sgt. Michael Murphy

Eric Deroche Brandon Alleman Chief John Richer

Donald Milligan (for S. Wiley-Gremillion)

Dean Dozier

Effie Clayton (for Thomas Thibeaud)

Representing Agency:

Division of Administration & Office of Information Technology Dept of Health & Hospitals LA Fire Chief's Association

Dept. of Transportation and Development

Police Chief's Association

LA Commission on Law Enforcement

LA Sheriff's Association LA State Police

LA National Guard

Attorney General's Office/GOHSEP

Dept. of Public Safety/Corrections Services

Region 2 East Baton Rouge OHSEP

Region 3 Assumption/St. James OHSEP

Region 4 Vermilion Parish Sheriff's Office

Region 5 Calcasieu OHSEP

Region 6 Rapides OHSEP

Region 8 Ouachita OHSEP

Region 9 Washington OHSEP

Guest List See Appendix A

Opening Remarks

Committee Chairman Rizwan Ahmed thanked the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police for hosting the committee meeting. Chad Leger, President of the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police, welcomed all committee members and guests on behalf of the Association.

Approval of Minutes – June 27, 2007

On motion of Eric Sivula, seconded by Dean Dozier, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the June 27, 2007 meeting. One correction was made as follows: New Business, Agenda Item No. IV: Change date from July 20, 2007 to July 19, 2007.

Assessment and Technology Sub-Committee

Chief Robert Black reviewed correspondence addressed to the sub-committee: Terrebonne Parish requested that the technology sub-committee review tower sight locations; Acadia Parish Sheriff's Office expressed support to build out the 700MHz infrastructure; and in a letter read by Lloyd Miller, a representative of the Region 5 Interoperability Committee, support was given for the plan to build out the 700MHz infrastructure from east to west along the I10 corridor.

Dean Dozier, Region 8 SIEC representative, requested that one of the emergency repeater trailers funded by BA-7 be placed in Region 8. Additionally, he requested three (3) ACU 1000 as a means to patch the region 8 disparate communication systems until the 700/800 MHz system infrastructure is built out in the northern portion of the state. Regional equipment requests were also noted from Regions 3, 5, 6, and 8. Chief Black agreed to put together a list of all regional requests to determine budgetary needs and send it to the committee members.

Chief Black stressed that the equipment requested by the regions is still considered part of an IP-based solution and that the equipment would still help move the state toward its long-term goal of achieving a statewide interoperable communications system. Eric Silvula emphasized the fact that the BA-7 funding for the IP-based solution must cover all 64 parishes.

On motion by Donald Milligan, seconded by Chief John Richer, the committee voted unanimously to use the IP-based funding from BA-7 to continue build out of the 700MHz infrastructure from the Florida parish line south, state line to state line and to fulfill the reasonable regional requests for communications equipment.

Upon getting the consolidated regional equipment requests and determining budgetary needs, Rizwan Ahmed will share that information with the funding subcommittee and key legislative members who were instrumental in supporting the passage of BA-7. He stressed the importance of providing them with situational awareness on spending for the IP-based solution.

Finance and Funding Sub-Committee

Col. Mickey McMorris announced that Louisiana was allocated \$19.6 million in Public Safety Interoperable Communications grants with an 80:20 local/state split. Applications are due in 30 days, and grants will be awarded by September 30, 2007. The final statewide plan is due by November 1, 2007. The grants are intended to help state and local first responders improve public safety communications and coordination during a natural or man-made disaster.

Policies and Procedures Sub-Committee

In the absence of committee member Susan Severance, there was not a report from the Policies and Procedures Sub-committee. However, the final copy of the Cooperative Endeavor Agreement for the radios was presented to the committee for review. Susan Severance sent electronic copies to the committee in advance on June 28, 2007. (The Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with amendments was approved at the June 27, 2007 meeting.)

Planning Committee Sub-Committee

There was not a report from the Planning sub-committee.

Old Business

Old business was not discussed.

New Business

New business was not discussed.

Public Comments

Brannon Decou, a representative from the Broussard Police Department of Lafayette Parish, and on behalf of Bill Vincent, asked the committee for assistance in achieving fair and equitable pricing to flash upgrade P25 compatible radios.

On motion by Freddy Drennan, seconded by Eric Silvula, the committee voted unanimously to have the technology sub-committee address fair and equitable costs to flash upgrade P25 compatible radios.

Adjournment

There being no further business to discuss, the Statewide Interoperable Executive Committee meeting was adjourned by the Chair at 3:15 p.m.

APPENDIX A GUEST LIST July 18, 2007

NAME AFFILIATION

Jerry W. Agnew, Sr. Bogalusa Police Department

Norman Bourdeau Calcasieu OHSEP

Brannon Decou Broussard Police Department

Danny Dupre City of Sulphur

Clifton Hebert Cameron Parish OHSEP

Bob LaRose Raytheon

Chad Leger President, Association of Louisiana Chiefs of Police

Michael F. Raymond SUN Police Department
Larry Terry Port Fourchon Harbor Police

Clyde Turknett DH Marketing