Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Grant Program

The Flood Mitigation Assistance Grant Program provides funds for reducing or eliminating long term risks of flood damage to structures that are insurable under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FMA funding is made available for flood hazard planning and flood hazard mitigation projects on an annual basis. Grants are funded by Congressional appropriations, managed by FEMA and administered through GOHSEP. Awards are on a nationally competitive basis.                                                                                             


Grants are designed to assist local communities, States, Federally recognized Tribes and Territories in implementing a sustained flood reduction program, that focuses on reducing or eliminating claims under the NFIP. The goal is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures from future hazard events, while also reducing reliance on Federal funding in future disasters.

Who can Participate in the FMA Grant Program?

Local governments, and State agencies may apply for FMA grants through the State. Federally recognized Tribal authorities apply through the State or independently (at their choice). Individuals must seek assistance and apply through their local Parish governing authority.

What Projects are Funded Through FMA Grants?                                      

Eligible applicants develop project applications based on FEMA priorities. For the FMA program applicants will then prioritize their projects and submit to GOHSEP. After GOHSEP reviews the application and submits to FEMA, FEMA will review and choose the applications to fund based on compliance with HMA guidance, eligibility of the proposed activity and cost, completeness of the application, cost-effectiveness, engineering feasibility and eligibility and availability of non-federal cost share, FEMA prioritize for the year in which the application is made.


The program:

  • Awards planning (flood hazard) and project grants.
  • Specific project types eligible for FMA assistance are identified in the chart to the right.

Application Process

Louisiana Applicants (also called Sub recipients) submit flood hazard planning and project applications to GOHSEP. Applications MUST be submitted using the mitigation online eGrants system. Accessing eGrants requires a login. 

To access as a NEW USER, contact your GOHSEP Hazard Mitigation (HM) State Applicant Liaison (SAL) for an access code. Federally recognized Tribal governments NOT applying through the State, contact FEMA directly.

Applications are forwarded to FEMA Region VI for review and approval and then to FEMA Headquarters where a final funding decision is made.

FEMA funds are awarded to States, U.S. Territories and Federal-recognized Tribal Applicants, who then provide sub awards (also called sub grants) to eligible local, State agency or other government Applicants (also called Sub recipients). 

Evaluation Criteria

FEMA will select eligible planning and project sub-applications in order of the agency’s priorities for the FY 2015 FMA Grant Program: 

  • 1st priority: Mitigation planning sub-applications consistent with 44 CFR Part 201 up to a maximum of $100,000 federal share per applicant.
  • 2nd priority: Projects that mitigate at least 50 percent of structures that meet definition part (b) (ii) of a Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) property: At least 2 separate NFIP claim payments have been made with the cumulative amount of such claims exceeding the market value of the insured structure.
  • 3rd priority: Project sub-applications that mitigate at least 50 percent of structures that meet the definition of a Repetitive Loss (RL) property: Have incurred flood-related damage on 2 occasions, in which the cost of the repair, on the average, equaled or exceeded 25 percent of the market value of the structure at the time of each such flood event.
  • 4th priority: Projects that mitigate at least 50 percent of structures meet definition part (b) (i) of a SRL property: 4 or more separate NFIP claims payments have been made with the amount of each claim exceeding $5,000, and with the cumulative amount of claims payments exceeding $20,000.
  • 5th priority: Projects that will reduce the risk profile.

When is the Application Period?

FMA Grants are awarded on an annual basis. Once an announcement is made by FEMA, the application period is open for approximately 90 days. Applicants will have 60 days from the date of announcement to submit applications to GOHSEP. GOHSEP utilizes the remaining 30 days to review, comment and request revisions before the final submission of applications to FEMA. The review and award process can take up to eight (8) months.

Additional Information

Please see the HMA Guidance available on FEMA's website: http://www.fema.gov/hazard-mitigation-assistance for more information 

Examples of Eligible FMA Activities

  • Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition
  • Property Acquisition and Structure Relocation
  • Structure Elevation
  • Mitigation Reconstruction
  • Dry Flood proofing of Historic Residential Structures
  • Dry Flood proofing of Non-Residential Structures
  • Localized Flood Risk Reduction Projects
  • Structural Retrofitting of Existing buildings
  • Non-Structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings and Facilities
  • Infrastructure Retrofit
  • Soil Stabilization
  • Miscellaneous/Other
  • Technical Assistance
  • Management Cost

Governor's Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness
7667 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
(225) 925-7500

Terms    |    Privacy    |   Public Information Request    |    Office of the Governor: Jeff Landry   |    Copyright - GOHSEP

Governor's Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness
Governor's Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness